top of page

Books to order this holiday season to round out your kids collection

For most special occasions for our kids we try to get them a new book. By now our shelves are brimming with books but we treasure our collections. I was recently asked for some recommendations for books that we use to help expose our kids to issues such as inclusivity, equity, race, resilience, and differences. I was so excited to tell my friend about all the books I have found or been gifted over the years on just this subject. I figured I might as well share with you all in case you are in search of books like this for this holiday season. In 2020, it seems even more important that we teach our children these messages at a young age. I hope in their lifetime they will not experience the divisiveness of this past year. But a little exposure to these issues can go a long way.

 

For younger kids (ages 2-5)

"We're Different. We're the Same." This sesame street book is so adorable. The pages are colorful, the message on differences and similarities of all people and all sesame street animals is simple and relatable.


"I Like Myself!" by Karen Beaumont. This board book has a simple message of acceptance of yourself for the differences we each have. This is something we try to teach our kiddos as much as possible.


 

For ages 5+

"The Sandwich Swap" by Queen Rania which is about two best friends and share and do everything together – except their lunch. I love the message about differences and learning about others cultures and acceptance.


The I am Series by Brad Meltzer. We have several of these books and just love them. Each describe the life of an influential person and how they became the amazing people they were. With great illustrations and an understandable timeline, the messages of resilience, challenges and hardship are so perfect for young kids.



Happy Reading and Happy New Year!











bottom of page